St Ermin’s is built upon the site of a 15th century chapel dedicated to St. Ermin (a derivation of St. Armel). In the mid to late 19th century, Westminster underwent great changes and expansion, resulting in the creation of St. Ermin’s Mansions by E.T. Hall in 1889, the building that now forms the basis of St. Ermin’s Hotel.
In 1899, the mansion blocks were finally converted into a hotel, the new owners embarked on a major refurbishment, involving the redesign of the interiors. This work was undertaken by the famous Victorian theatre designer J.P. Briggs, who created a dramatic collection of reception rooms with rich plasterwork. This vintage marketing brochure from around 1910 illustrates some of this spectacular craftsmanship, much of which is still in evidence today. Like the present St. Ermin's, the previous owners understood that modern technology enhanced the guest experience, they mention the installation of telephones in all bedrooms, rather than an antiquated bell system.